extremecouponqueen

My Frugal but Tasty Thanksgiving Menu November 17, 2011

Filed under: Weekly Meal Plans — extremecouponqueen @ 6:59 pm

I’m hosting this year and I like to plan things way in advance! I went shopping at Aldi (I’m sorry if you don’t have an Aldi near you….it’s unbelievable how much cheaper they are than everyone else!) yesterday for everything but the turkey. I already started baking my pumpkin bread today since it freezes well and actually tastes better (it gets more moist and flavorful) after a few days!

Cajun Fried Turkey (I buy the frozen turkey, I can’t tell the difference between that and fresh, especially when you fry it!) Usually costs under $5 for the turkey, and my neighbor always fries his turkey and offers to do mine for free, so I’ll take him some homemade cookies or something as a thank you. I inject it with melted butter and cajun seasoning beforehand.

Cranberry Sauce

Gourmet Sweet Potato Classic

Loaded Potato Casserole, serves 8 (I made this up)

8-10 Russet potatoes (the smaller/medium sized, not the huge ones), peeled, boiled and mashed

1/2 pound (or half a package) bacon, cooked and crumbled

16 oz shredded cheese, your favorite flavor (we like Colby Jack)

1 8 oz container light sour cream

1 stick butter

2 cups warm milk (or heavy cream if you’re feeling naughty…makes these super rich and creamy!)

1/2 cup chopped green onion

Salt and pepper to taste

Once the potatoes are mashed, stir in half the crumbled bacon, half the cheese, the entire container of sour cream, butter, and milk (add more/less milk depending on the consistence you like), and half the green onion. Spread into a 9×13 pan and top with remaining cheese and bacon, cover with foil and bake at 350 for 30 minutes. Remove from oven, sprinkle remaining green onion on top, serve.

Green Bean Casserole (Sis in law)

Sausage and Pecan Cornbread Dressing (in-laws)

Downeast Maine Pumpkin Bread

Rolls

Double Layer Pumpkin Cheescake

Pecan Pie (Mom)

Chocolate Cavity Maker Cake

 

My mouth is watering! I am so ready for Thanksgiving!!

 

Leave a Reply

