extremecouponqueen

Introducing A Budgeting Series: Becoming Financially Free June 13, 2011

Filed under: Budgeting Series — extremecouponqueen @ 3:49 pm

I’d like to start a series to share how to become financially free with you. I strongly believe in living debt free, and we are well on our way to making that possible. Just think about it, wouldn’t it be amazing to not owe anybody anything and not be throwing away your hard earned money on interest?

 

When I say debt free, I don’t mean just credit card debt. I mean car loans, student loans, even your mortgage! Before you say I’m crazy and close your browser, hear me out.  I’ve read up on a lot of Dave Ramsey and I think he’s brilliant. I’m just kicking myself for not starting this years ago! You don’t have to run out and buy his book or anything, just check this out to get started:

 

Dave Ramsey: 7 Baby Steps To Getting Out of Debt

 

 

 

I’m currently on step two. I am thankful to have no credit card debt, but we have a car loan and my husband has student loans. I’m paying these off very aggressively (currently paying quadruple what is due for the student loans) and they will be paid off in less than 4 years (everything but the mortgage). It is definitely a huge challenge and sacrifice, and I know sometimes I drive my husband crazy because paying so much doesn’t leave very much room for other things we’d like to do with our money, but it will be well worth it very soon. We’ve made a vow to never pay interest again, and I challenge you to do the same! Even if you feel like you’re barely keeping your head above water, I’m going to show you how to reduce expenses in other areas so you can do this and have financial peace!

 

Leave a Reply

